This past January, the Commonwealth celebrated 150 years of providing news coverage to the Ripon community.

In honor of that milestone, state Rep. Joan Ballweg, R-Markesan, and state Sen. Luther Olsen, R-Ripon, commissioned a formal citation on behalf of the state honoring the paper.

Above right, on hand to accept it were the paper’s staff, from left, Jennifer Sadlon, Todd Sharp, Tami Conlon, Ballweg, Olsen, Tim Lyke, Jonathan Bailey, Heather Shaver, Ian Stepleton and Aaron Becker. Not pictured are Steve Wendt, Wendy Long and Lisa Lingafeld.

Below right, Sharp and Olsen look on as Ballweg presents the plaque to Lyke, whose family has owned the Commonwealth (as well as Ripon Printers) since 1962.

Recommended for you