Nine Ripon FFA members earn top honor at state

Amanda Coehoorn and Kailey Wood show off their project that earned a silver award in the Agriscience Fair.

Ripon FFA members attending the 82nd Wisconsin FFA Convention were “powered by potential” as they participated in sessions, workshops and award presentations in Madison recently.

The Ripon FFA chapter received the PRIDE (Promote, Recruit, Inspire, Develop and Educate) membership award. To receive the award, chapters had to increase their local membership by at least 10 members.

Amanda Coehoorn and Kailey Wood earned a silver award in the Agriscience Fair. Their project was entered in the biochemistry/ microbiology/food science category.

Focusing on the presence of bacteria on produce, they tested 16 different types of fruits and vegetables, using seven methods of washing the produce. Their research included using 285 petri samples. Their research concluded that the breathe and wipe method was the most effective.

Lindsey Kemnitz and Amanda Mueller served as voting delegates for Ripon, discussing business and voting for the new section six state FFA officer.

Kayla Hetzel, Justin Kain, Stephanie Sonnenberg, Brittany Taylor and Taylor Worthington represented Ripon at the convention sessions, listening to inspirational speakers and award presentations.

Ripon was proud to have nine FFA members earn the Wisconsin State FFA Degree. They were: Amanda Coehoorn, Mariah Kastenschmidt, Alyssa Towery, Lindsey Towery, Ariel Robbins, Kailey Wood, Jessica Zemlicka, Diana Zimdars and Nathan Zimdars. They were among the 428 members to receive the State FFA Degree.

Read the full story in the July 14, 2011 Ripon Commonwealth Press.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Thank you for taking part in our commenting section. We want this platform to be a safe and inclusive community where you can freely share ideas and opinions. Comments that are racist, hateful, sexist or attack others won’t be allowed. Just keep it clean. Do these things or you could be banned:

• Don’t name-call and attack other commenters. If you’d be in hot water for saying it in public, then don’t say it here.

• Don’t spam us.

• Don’t attack our journalists.

Let’s make this a platform that is educational, enjoyable and insightful.

Email questions to