A new leader has surfaced on the Ripon Area School Board.

Only, he’s not new.

Andy Lyke was elected board president by his peers Monday as the board held its annual organizational meeting after the spring election.

The veteran School Board member previously served as president for four full years — 2006-07, 2007-08, 2010-2011 and 2011-2012.

Monday’s decision was not unanimous, however, as the board chose Lyke over fellow nominee Dan Zimmerman with a 6-2 secret-ballot decision.

Lyke is taking over for David Scott, who has served as board president the past two years. Board bylaws state a member may not hold the same role for more than two consecutive years.

A 12-year veteran of the Ripon Area School Board, Lyke was reelected to his fifth term earlier this month, taking the most votes of any of the three School Board candidates on the ballot.

Also re-elected were board members Zimmerman and John Sperger.

Appointed as officers for the next year are: vice president: Zimmerman (beating Gary Rodman for the position on a 5-3 vote); treasurer: Sherry Muskavitch (defeating Sperger 5-3); Clerk: David Olson (earning 5 votes with three other candidates each receiving one).

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Thank you for taking part in our commenting section. We want this platform to be a safe and inclusive community where you can freely share ideas and opinions. Comments that are racist, hateful, sexist or attack others won’t be allowed. Just keep it clean. Do these things or you could be banned:

• Don’t name-call and attack other commenters. If you’d be in hot water for saying it in public, then don’t say it here.

• Don’t spam us.

• Don’t attack our journalists.

Let’s make this a platform that is educational, enjoyable and insightful.

Email questions to darkin@orourkemediagroup.com.