On Monday morning, City Administrator Steve Barg and assistant city administrator Lori Rich drew names out of a bin to determine the order of which names will appear on the ballot for the April 6 spring election.

Two races will be contested for city posts.

Based on the draw, names will appear in the order below:


1) Gary Will

2) Deano Pape

Council — District 3:

Andrew Zuelke

Howard Hansen

Three other seats also will be up for election.

In District 1, which Pape is vacating to run for mayor, Jim Werch will make his first run for office. He will run unopposed, barring a write-in campaign.

For District 2, Ald. Joel Brockman will run for re-election. The District 3 race between Zuelke and Hansen will be for the seat being vacated by retiring Ald. Gib Stoeberl.

Meanwhile, in District 4, Ald. Al Schraeder is running for re-election.

Council members are elected to four-year terms, while mayors are elected for two-year stints.

For Ripon Area School Board, names also were drawn for the order they would appear on the ballot. According to Business Manager Rick Ketter, the four people running for three seats on the ballot will appear as such:

David Scott

Dale Wszalek

Steve Meyer

David Olson

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Thank you for taking part in our commenting section. We want this platform to be a safe and inclusive community where you can freely share ideas and opinions. Comments that are racist, hateful, sexist or attack others won’t be allowed. Just keep it clean. Do these things or you could be banned:

• Don’t name-call and attack other commenters. If you’d be in hot water for saying it in public, then don’t say it here.

• Don’t spam us.

• Don’t attack our journalists.

Let’s make this a platform that is educational, enjoyable and insightful.

Email questions to darkin@orourkemediagroup.com.

Share your opinion


Join the conversation

Recommended for you